Ingredients & claims / concentration guide성분·주장 검증 / 함량 가이드

Urea in skincare:
what the percentage changes
화장품 속 요소(우레아),
함량에 따라 무엇이 달라질까?

Three, five, ten and twenty percent are not steps on a simple potency ladder. Human studies show that the whole formula, body site and skin condition can matter as much as the number.

3%·5%·10%·20%를 단순한 ‘효능 강도표’로 보면 안 된다. 인체시험을 보면 숫자만큼이나 완제품 제형, 바르는 부위, 피부 상태가 결과를 좌우한다.

Dryness건조함Rough texture거친 결3–20%Formula-dependent제형 의존적
A concentration map함량 선택 지도not a potency score강도 순위 아님
3–5%
Routine dryness일상적인 건조함Start with the whole formula and tolerance완제품 제형과 사용감을 먼저 본다
10%
Visible scaling눈에 띄는 각질·거침Better studied, not automatically better근거는 더 많지만 무조건 우월하지 않다
20%
Localised thick texture국소적으로 두껍고 거친 부위Not a default facial recommendation얼굴의 기본 권장 농도는 아니다
Editorial decision aid based on the studies below. It is not a universal medical dosing chart.아래 연구를 바탕으로 만든 편집용 선택 가이드이며, 보편적인 의학적 용량표가 아니다.
Most useful comparison가장 실용적인 비교5% vs 10% · 42 days · 100 randomized
What is not established확인되지 않은 것A universal “more is better” threshold함량이 높을수록 항상 좋다는 기준
Disclosure고지Independent editorial analysis · commercial study links disclosed · not medical advice독립 편집 분석 · 연구의 상업적 연계 공개 · 의학적 조언 아님
30-second answer30초 결론

The percentage is a use-case clue—not a quality score함량은 용도를 짐작하는 단서이지
제품의 등급표가 아니다

Both 3% and 10% creams improved hydration and scaling in one three-week dry-skin trial; the 10% product also lowered TEWL. In another trial that randomized 100 people, 5% and 10% moisturisers showed numerically similar six-week SCORAD reductions with no statistically significant between-product difference, while more users preferred the 5% formula. Three participants withdrew because of adverse events; the abstract does not report the analysis denominator by arm. Twenty percent has a plausible role for localised rough texture, but the available keratosis-pilaris study had no control group.

건성 피부를 대상으로 한 3주 시험에서는 3%와 10% 크림 모두 수분과 각질 상태를 개선했고, 10% 제품에서는 경피수분손실도 줄었다. 다른 시험은 100명을 무작위 배정했고 5%와 10% 보습제의 6주 SCORAD 감소폭은 수치상 비슷했으며 제품 간 통계적 유의차가 없었다. 사용감은 5% 제품을 더 선호했지만, 이상반응으로 3명이 중도 탈락했고 초록에는 군별 분석 인원이 공개되지 않았다. 20%는 국소적으로 거친 피부에 활용할 여지가 있지만, 모공각화증 연구에는 비교군이 없었다.

Time horizon: most useful controlled studies assessed 3–7 weeks of consistent use. Softer feel may appear sooner, but instant smoothness does not prove durable barrier change.사용 기간: 참고할 만한 대조시험은 대체로 3~7주간 꾸준히 사용했다. 촉감은 더 빨리 부드러워질 수 있지만, 즉각적인 매끈함이 지속적인 장벽 변화를 증명하지는 않는다.
Fit before percentage함량보다 먼저 볼 것

Choose by skin condition and body site, not age or gender나이·성별보다
피부 상태와 바를 부위가 먼저다

May suit고려할 수 있는 경우

Dry, flaky or persistently rough skin건조하고 각질이 들뜨거나 거친 피부

A lower-percentage face or body moisturiser can be a reasonable starting point for routine dryness. Around 10% may make more sense when scaling is more visible. Higher-percentage products belong mainly on localised thick areas when the label is designed for that site.

일상적인 건조함에는 저함량 얼굴·바디 보습제부터 시작할 수 있다. 각질이 눈에 띄면 10% 안팎이 더 현실적인 선택이 될 수 있다. 고함량 제품은 해당 부위를 위해 설계된 제품인지 확인한 뒤 두껍고 거친 국소 부위에 제한적으로 접근하는 편이 안전하다.

Pause or seek care주의하거나 진료가 필요한 경우

Cracked, inflamed, infected or unexplained itchy skin갈라짐·염증·감염·원인 모를 가려움이 있는 피부

Urea can smart on compromised skin. Stop for persistent burning, swelling or worsening rash. Deep fissures, warmth, pus, spreading redness, diabetic foot problems or severe itch need clinical assessment—not a stronger cosmetic percentage.

손상된 피부에는 요소 제품이 따갑게 느껴질 수 있다. 화끈거림·부종·발진 악화가 지속되면 중단한다. 깊은 균열, 열감, 고름, 번지는 홍반, 당뇨발 문제, 심한 가려움은 함량을 높이기보다 진료가 우선이다.

Pregnancy and lactation were not the focus of the trials reviewed here. Follow the product label and ask a clinician when treating a diagnosed skin condition or using high-percentage products on large areas.이번에 검토한 시험은 임신·수유 중 사용을 중심으로 설계되지 않았다. 진단받은 피부질환을 관리하거나 고함량 제품을 넓은 부위에 사용할 때는 제품 표시를 따르고 의료진과 상의한다.
Visual concentration decision table시각적 함량 결정표

Start with the gentlest formula that matches the job내 피부의 목적에 맞는
가장 순한 제형부터 시작한다

3%Dry-skin hydration signal in a three-week trial. Not proven inferior to every higher dose.3주 건성 피부 시험에서 수분 개선 신호. 모든 고함량보다 열등하다고 볼 수 없다.
5%A practical daily-moisturiser range. One comparison found no significant between-product difference versus 10%, but it was not an equivalence or non-inferiority trial.일상 보습제로 접근하기 쉬운 범위. 한 비교에서 10% 제품과 유의차가 없었지만 동등성·비열등성 시험은 아니었다.
10%More evidence for visible dryness and scaling; still formula-dependent and capable of smarting.눈에 띄는 건조·각질 근거가 더 많다. 그래도 제형 의존적이며 따가울 수 있다.
20%Consider for localised rough, thick texture in a purpose-built product—not as a default face cream.용도에 맞는 제품으로 국소적으로 거칠고 두꺼워진 각질에 고려한다. 기본 얼굴 크림 농도는 아니다.

This is a conservative editorial map, not a regulatory or medical dosing standard. No single trial compared all four concentrations in an identical vehicle.이 표는 보수적인 편집 가이드이며 규제·의학적 용량 기준이 아니다. 동일한 제형에서 네 농도를 모두 직접 비교한 시험은 없다.

How to start: apply the product as labelled, usually once or twice daily. For reactive skin, test a small area first and begin less often. Do not combine a high-percentage urea product with multiple scrubs or exfoliating acids simply because the skin feels rough.시작 방법: 제품 표시대로 보통 하루 1~2회 바른다. 민감한 피부는 작은 부위에서 먼저 시험하고 횟수를 줄여 시작한다. 피부가 거칠다는 이유로 고함량 요소 제품과 여러 스크럽·각질제거산을 한꺼번에 겹치지 않는다.
Korean-market context한국 브랜드 사용 맥락

Two current Korean-market examples use urea in purpose-built moisturisers현재 확인한 국내 사례 2개는
용도가 뚜렷한 보습 제품이다

The two current Korean examples checked here disclose urea percentages in intensive moisturisers and foot products rather than treating “urea” as a universal glow ingredient. That matches the evidence better: concentration and body site are part of the product’s intended job.

이번에 확인한 국내 현행 사례 2개는 ‘광채 성분’ 세럼보다 집중 보습 크림이나 풋크림에서 더 쉽게 찾을 수 있다. 이는 요소를 볼 때 함량과 사용 부위를 함께 봐야 한다는 연구 맥락과도 맞는다.

Current brand / retailer surface현재 확인한 브랜드·유통사 판매면 Verified formula fact확인된 제형 정보 Fair reading과장 없는 해석
ZEROID Richenic Cream Urea 10% The official ingredient list names urea at 10%, followed by a silicone/emollient/humectant base with panthenol and other components.공식 전성분에 우레아 10%를 명시하고, 실리콘·에몰리언트·보습제 기반에 판테놀 등 여러 성분을 함께 사용한다. A transparent 10% Korean formula; benefits still belong to the complete cream, not urea alone.함량을 투명하게 공개한 국내 10% 제형이다. 효과는 요소 단독이 아니라 완제품 전체에 귀속된다.
BEYOND Bodytamin Urea Peptide B7 12% Heel Foot Cream The current Olive Young Global listing presents 12% urea in a heel-focused foot cream.현재 올리브영 글로벌 판매면은 발뒤꿈치용 풋크림에 요소 12%를 명시한다. A higher percentage positioned for a thick, localised body site—not evidence that 12% belongs on every face.두껍고 국소적인 신체 부위를 겨냥한 고함량 사례다. 12%를 모든 얼굴 피부에 써야 한다는 근거는 아니다.
Version check: the discontinued Derma:B 9.8% official URL returned 404 on September 22, 2026, so it is not used as a current-market example. Retailer archives and reviews are not proof of present availability.판매 버전 확인: 더마비 9.8% 제품의 기존 공식 URL은 2026년 9월 22일 기준 404를 반환해 현행 사례에서 제외했다. 유통사 보관 페이지나 과거 리뷰만으로 현재 판매 중이라고 단정하지 않았다.
Human evidence인체시험 분석

Five and ten percent showed similar changes—but the trial did not test non-inferiority5%와 10%의 변화량은 비슷했지만
비열등성 시험은 아니었다

5% urea

−19.76%

10% urea

−19.23%

0SCORAD reduction → 20%

Within-group change after 42 days in a trial that randomized 100 people with atopic dermatitis; three withdrew because of adverse events, and the abstract does not report the arm-specific analysis denominator. Both p<.001 from baseline; no significant difference between products. More participants preferred the 5% product. Source: Bissonnette et al., 2010.아토피피부염 환자 100명을 무작위 배정한 시험의 42일 사용 전후 변화량이다. 이상반응으로 3명이 중도 탈락했고 초록에는 군별 분석 인원이 공개되지 않았다. 두 군 모두 시작값 대비 p<.001이었고 제품 간 유의한 차이는 없었다. 사용감은 5% 제품을 더 선호했다. 출처: Bissonnette 외, 2010.

Study연구 What it found확인된 결과 What it cannot prove증명하지 못한 것
Parallel 3% or 10% product assignment · opposite forearm untreated · 3 weeks · 47 enrolled / 45 evaluated Both improved hydration and scaling; 10% reduced TEWL.두 제품 모두 수분·각질 개선. 10%는 경피수분손실 감소. The formulas differed, so concentration was not isolated.제형도 달라 함량만의 효과를 분리하지 못했다.
5% vs 10% · 42 days · 100 randomized / 3 AE withdrawals SCORAD −19.76% vs −19.23%; no significant between-product difference. This does not establish equivalence.SCORAD −19.76% 대 −19.23%, 제품 간 유의차 없음. 동등성을 입증한 것은 아니다. No urea-free control; disease endpoint and different finished products; arm-specific analysis denominator not reported in the abstract.무요소 대조군이 없고 질환 지표·서로 다른 완제품 비교이며 초록에는 군별 분석 인원이 없다.
20% · 4 weeks · n=30 Mean texture score fell 9.25% at week 1 and 11.39% at week 4, both p≤.001; standardized photographs were graded by multiple expert graders and no adverse events were reported.표준화 사진을 여러 전문 평가자가 채점한 결과 평균 피부결 점수는 1주에 9.25%, 4주에 11.39% 감소했고 모두 p≤.001이었다. 이상반응은 보고되지 않았다. Open-label, no control; three of six authors were Galderma employees.공개시험·무대조이며 저자 6명 중 3명은 갈더마 직원이었다.
3-arm trial · total n=197: urea/salt 63, glycerin 68, base 66 Moderate/severe smarting 24% vs 10% with 20% glycerin, p<.0006.중등도 이상 따가움 24%, 글리세린 20% 제품은 10%, p<.0006. Smarting cannot be assigned to urea alone; salt and vehicle differed.소금과 제형도 달라 따가움을 요소 단독 탓으로 볼 수 없다.
Commercial context matters. The 4% urea/salt study’s first author was affiliated with ACO Hud AB. In the 5% vs 10% paper, five authors were affiliated with Innovaderm and two with La Roche-Posay; a separate funding statement was not visible on the accessible record. A separate seven-week study had two ACO employees and reported ACO funding; in the 20% study, three of six authors were Galderma Laboratories employees; the other three declared no relevant conflicts. None of these studies establishes a universal retail-product ranking.상업적 맥락도 함께 봐야 한다. 4% 요소·소금 연구의 제1저자는 ACO Hud AB 소속이었다. 5% 대 10% 논문은 저자 5명이 Innovaderm, 2명이 La Roche-Posay 소속이었고, 접근 가능한 기록에서는 별도 연구비 문구를 확인하지 못했다. 별도의 7주 연구는 저자 2명이 ACO 직원이었고 ACO 연구비 지원을 밝혔다. 20% 연구는 저자 6명 중 3명이 갈더마 연구소 직원이었고, 나머지 3명은 관련 이해관계가 없다고 밝혔다. 어떤 연구도 모든 시판 제품의 보편적 순위를 만들지는 못한다.
실제 포뮬러제형에서 놓치기 쉬운 점

The base can matter as much as the urea percentage요소 함량만큼
크림의 바탕 제형이 중요하다

Urea sits inside a complete moisturiser. Glycerin and other humectants attract water; oils, silicones and occlusives reduce evaporation while present; emollients change feel and scaling; lipids can alter barrier behaviour. In a 30-person biometric study, participants were divided into separate 5% and 10% cohorts and each person used commercial and compounded formulas on opposite forearms. In that split-site design, the commercial products produced better acute TEWL results than comparable compounded products (p=.04), and the commercial 10% product produced higher hydration readings than the compounded 10% product (57.48±11.23 vs 50.59±11.42, p=.02). That is evidence for formulation dependence—not proof that commercial always beats compounded.

요소는 완제품 보습제 안에서 작동한다. 글리세린 같은 보습제는 물을 끌어당기고, 오일·실리콘·밀폐 성분은 피부에 머무는 동안 수분 증발을 줄이며, 에몰리언트는 촉감과 각질 상태를 바꾸고, 지질은 장벽 거동에 영향을 줄 수 있다. 30명 기기평가 연구는 참가자를 별도의 5%군과 10%군으로 나누고, 각 참가자의 양쪽 팔에 시판품과 조제품을 비교하는 분할부위 설계를 사용했다. 이 시험에서 시판 제품은 비교 조제 제품보다 단회 사용 후 경피수분손실 개선이 더 컸고(p=.04), 시판 10% 제품의 수분도도 조제 10% 제품보다 높았다(57.48±11.23 대 50.59±11.42, p=.02). 이는 제형이 중요하다는 근거이지, 시판품이 언제나 조제품보다 낫다는 증명은 아니다.

Shopping check: confirm the percentage, intended body site, fragrance and exfoliating co-actives. “Urea complex” or ingredient-list position does not disclose the finished-product percentage.구매 체크: 함량, 권장 사용 부위, 향료, 함께 들어간 각질관리 성분을 확인한다. ‘우레아 콤플렉스’나 전성분 순서만으로 완제품 함량을 알 수는 없다.
Sources & editorial record출처·편집 기록

What we checked확인한 자료

  1. Serup J. Double-blind randomized comparison of 3% and 10% urea creams. Acta Derm Venereol. 1992.
  2. Bissonnette R et al. Double-blind comparison of 5% and 10% urea moisturisers in atopic dermatitis. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2010.
  3. McCormick E et al. Open-label 20% urea cream study in keratosis pilaris. J Drugs Dermatol. 2024.
  4. Lodén M et al. Double-blind comparison of glycerin and 4% urea/4% sodium-chloride cream. Acta Derm Venereol. 2002.
  5. Samadi A et al. Randomized biometric comparison of commercial and compounded 5%/10% urea moisturisers. J Cosmet Sci. 2021.
  6. Buraczewska I et al. Seven-week randomized moisturizer/barrier-function study. Br J Dermatol. 2007.
  7. Grether-Beck S et al. Two-week, 10-person urea versus urea/ceramide/vitamin comparison. Hautarzt. 2008.
  8. ZEROID official product and ingredient page: Richenic Cream Urea 10%.
  9. Olive Young Global current listing: BEYOND Bodytamin Urea Peptide B7 12% Heel Foot Cream.
  10. K-Beauty Ledger: Ceramides vs pseudoceramides—linked context for lipid moisturisers.K-Beauty Ledger: 세라마이드와 유사세라마이드—지질 보습제의 추가 맥락.

Evidence and Korean-market pages checked September 22, 2026. This article provides cosmetic information, not medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Major corrections or conclusion changes are disclosed on the article.자료와 국내 판매면 확인일 2026년 9월 22일. 이 글은 화장품 정보이며 의학적 조언·진단·치료가 아니다. 중대한 정정이나 결론 변경은 글에 공개한다.

관련 글